Why I Chose to Start a Business in College


My aim is to be as brutally honest as possible. Today I’m sharing why I decided to take on the joy, fulfillment, pain and heartache of being an entrepreneur/college kid. 

Ever so often, when I find myself on the edge of having a nervous breakdown, I ask myself, “self, why you did you bring this on yourself?

Let me tell you, entrepreneurship can take every ounce of strength you have in you. It can also be the most fulfilling thing you’ve ever done in your life. Its funny, I actually remember cow bawling to my best friend, (absolutely exhausted) one day after successfully executing a project that took 6 months of planning.

It went a little something like this:
*sobs* No one *sobs*  told me *sobs* it was going to be this haaardddd. *resumes cow bawling*

Yikes. I’ve seen better days. 

Honestly, I wouldn’t have it any other way. I mean this from the bottom of my heart and with every fiber of my being. Fulfilling my purpose has brought me so much joy. I’ve learned so much about myself through trying to balance growing a business and maintaining a healthy GPA. I’ve truly learned what it means and feels like to want something as bad as I want to breathe (s/o to Eric Thomas).

For those of you who frequently ask yourselves the same question I do or are not sure if this life is for you, here are my reasons for choosing to double as an entrepreneur and college kid. 

  1. Being my Own Boss.
    The idea of sleeping in, reporting to myself and vacationing when I felt like it was all I needed to be convinced that this was the path for me. Hah, I QUICKLY realized that being told what to do and when to do it doesn’t sound half as bad compared to the 24/7 demands of entrepreneurship. To be fair though, when I started out on my entrepreneurship journey, I was on a Rich Dad Poor Dad high (this book is a must read). I was like “eeh that yuh seh? cya rich working for nobody? Okay bet say no more.”



  2. Passion
    I was passionate about the work I wanted to do and the lives I wanted to change. I still have that same passion if not a stronger one today. Passion is what will keep you going when you feel like you’ve reached your breaking point. NOBODY said this life would be easy.


     

     

  3. Tons of Resources Open to College Kids.
    Who knew that there were so many free or discounted resources available to college kids pursuing entrepreneurship? My university especially has spaces designed for entrepreneurs and innovators. (I’ve used at least one of these spaces as a personal office.) All I ask is for anyone traveling this path to FIND THESE RESOURCES AND SHARE THEM.


     

  4. Failing Unapologetically
    As a college student who’s gotten just about 4 years to get my life together, I get to fail and fail again in business (emphasis on in business). The magical thing about having a meal plan and no light bill is that if business doesn’t go how I want it to one month, I won’t come home to an eviction notice or the power cut off. I get to go back to the drawing board if things don’t pan out and truly see what my ideas can blossom into. (This has its disadvantages as well if you’re someone who works better under pressure.)


     

     

     

    So, everyone  has their different reasons for choosing to set off on their entrepreneurship journey. It has its ups and its down that’s for sure. Lord knows it’s not for everyone. I applaud people who have taken it on fearlessly and respect those who have chosen to stay away. 

    Twitter: Kristaforbes_
    IG: @Kristagayeforbes

Leave a Reply

